Karol Malik

Landscape Architect

karol@yd-a.com

Karol brings to YDA his experience with the design and study of landscape in its many forms: gardens, parks, playgrounds, campuses, building/landscape hybrids, greenways, waterfronts, and urban regional strategies. He has a keen interest in projective modeling of topographical shifts and vegetative succession, as well as the phenomenological and cultural experiences underlying human stewardship of the land.

Karol has contributed his vision and work to constructed projects at various scales, in diverse climates, notably the Crescent Farm at the Los Angeles County Arboretum — an experimental demonstration ground for low-water homesteading, the intimate Monk’s Garden at the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston, and the evolving system of parks and experimental agriculture on the Plateau de Saclay, outside of Paris.

Most recently, Karol’s design research has centered on the design of outdoor microclimates and hybrid living/mechanical systems to create spaces that are simultaneously evocative, productive, and ecologically responsible.

Education

Master of Landscape Architecture, Harvard University Graduate School of Design, 2011-2014

Fellow at the Center for Arabic Studies Abroad, American University of Cairo, Egypt, 2009-2010

Bachelor of Arts in Biology with Language Citation in Modern Arabic, Harvard College, 2004-2009

 

Employment

Center for Green Buildings and Cities, Harvard University, 2014-

Graduate Teaching Assistant, Harvard University, 2013-2014

Michel Desvigne Paysagiste, Paris, 2013

Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates, Brooklyn, NY, 2012

Department of the Classics, Harvard University, 2009

Laboratoire de Géobiologie, Biochronologie et Paléontologie Humaine, Université de Poitiers, 2006

 

Languages

English, Polish, French, Spanish, Arabic, Turkish

Karol Malik

Landscape Architect

karol@yd-a.com

Karol apporte à YDA son expérience et conception du paysage à travers ses multiples formes: jardins, parcs, espaces récréatifs, campus, environnements mixtes, promenades plantées, fronts de mer, et planifications urbaines stratégiques. Son intérêt porte notamment sur la reconstruction de ruptures topographiques et sa palette d’espèces végétales, de même qu’une approche phénoménologique et culturelle sous-jacente à la gestion foncière.

Karol a contribué à la réalisation de projets à diverses échelles dans des environnements climatiques variés, notamment pour celui de l’arboretum Crescent Farm du département de Los Angeles aux Etats-Unis – une démarche expérimentale avec des ressources en eau limitées, le Monk’s Garden du musée Isabella Stewart Gardner à Boston, ainsi que le système rhizomatique de parcs et cultures expérimentales du plateau de Saclay de la région Ile-de-France.

La recherche de Karol s’est récemment focalisé sur la conception et contrôle des microclimats, ainsi que sur les systèmes de cultures hybrides vivant/mécanique afin de créer des espaces tant poétiques que responsables environnementalement.

Formation

Master en Paysage et Architecture, Harvard University Graduate School of Design, 2011-2014

Formation au Centre d’Arabe Classique, Université Américaine du Caire, Egypte, 2009-2010

B.A de Biologie et spécialité en Arabe Classique, Harvard University, 2004-2009

 

Expériences professionnelles

Centre de recherche en Urbanisme et Architecture Ecologique, Harvard University, 2014-

Assistant académique grade Master, Harvard University, 2013-2014

Michel Desvigne Paysagiste, Paris, 2013

Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates, Brooklyn, NY, 2012

Département d’Arabe Classique, Harvard University, 2009

Laboratoire de Géobiologie, Biochronologie et Paléontologie Humaine, Université de Poitiers, 2006

 

Langues

Anglais, Polonais, Français, Espagnol, Arabe, Turc